Being a son… Of God

“and I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.””‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭6:18‬ ‭ESV‬‬

“even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.”

‭‭Ephesians‬ ‭1:4-6‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Indeed, what a privilege it is to not just be named, but to BE a son or daughter of God. Sometimes (or rather most times), it’s so easy to take this great and unfathomable truth for granted. We covet, and find ourselves bitter at the immeasurable favour of God’s love for another brother or sister, because we feel like they are less deserving. That’s such a sad sad irony though, for who are we to call ourselves worthy?

It is all Our Father’s choice, to love WHO He shall love, and to love them in His own way for His own purposes.

That leaves me with the question – how do I then live with (and more importantly, love) my fellow brothers and sisters?

One thing about our earthly family that teaches us how to love, is the unchangeble fact that we don’t choose who our father or mother, brother or sister would be. And as we learn to accept our family members for who they are, we practice grace, patience, kindness and even gentleness with one another.

In the same way, we do not choose who our spiritual brothers and sisters would be! Our Heavenly Father has brought us all together to be, one family. More than that, He loves us all equally and there is no competition for more affection, for more good gifts or for more favour. We have all been infinitely blessed beyond our own human comprehension.

My prayer:

My Heavenly Father, I thank You so much for loving me immeasurably more than I could’ve ever asked for. I thank You for taking me into Your family, as unworthy as I was. Each day, You are transforming my heart, to not only love as You’d want me to, but to love you so much more through the various trials and storms.

Our Heavenly Father, we lift all our earthly conflicts, inadequencies and hard-heartedness to You. We need Your guidance, Your direction and above all, Your Spirit to come and rest upon each and every single one of us. That our interactions will be filled with Your love, Your patience, Your kindness and even Your gentleness.

Thank You so much for hearing our cries and we pray, that Your presence in our lives will just grow ever more radiant, that we will not only be overwhelmed with grace, but that Your love and mercy will just overflow from our lives.

I rest my hands, my mind and my heart in Your loving arms. Thank You.

In Jesus’ Name I pray, amen.

Leave a Reply

