The God who always is

As a Christian, there are still many seasons of our lives where we feel down, insecure and even overwhelmed. In such moments, I find myself praying a prayer such as this:

I said, “Let me remember my song in the night; let me meditate in my heart.” Then my spirit made a diligent search: I will remember the deeds of the Lord ; yes, I will remember your wonders of old. I will ponder all your work, and meditate on your mighty deeds. [Psalm 77:6, 11-12]

Recently I’ve been thinking with reference to the words ‘deeds’ and ‘works’, how does God’s deeds and works look like in the 21st century?

In the past with the many stories of the bible, we see God’s intervention when He saved the Israelites from the hand of pharoah. We saw how God delivered the Israelites from Goliath. We even saw how Jesus on this earth, healed the sick and the lame, cast out demons and loved the poor and the young.

It’s so easy to look at these events of the bible and to clearly attribute glory, honour and power to our God.

But what about now? What does God’s mercy, love and grace look like now?

I think, that we’ve been a generation so attuned to thinking for ourselves, to only seeing the world through our own lenses, that we fail to see the hand of God which is on and in all things! When we asked and did not receive, when we pleaded and heard silence, when we cried for peace and found no rest, we assume that God has withheld His goodness from us.

But that could not be further from the truth!

Your way was through the sea, your path through the great waters; yet your footprints were unseen. You led your people like a flock by the hand of Moses and Aaron. [Psalm 19-20 ESV]

That’s the love of our God, that even when we failed to recognise His love and to worship Him as our God, He still chose to love us.

This is our King, and just as He loves us like Jesus loved His disciples, He loves us through His people, the people of God.

Even when we think God has forsaken us and we respond in uncertainty, even unfaithfulness, His faithfulness and love endures forever.

To the God who walks silently beside me, behind me and before me, thank you.

Leave a Reply

